Office de tourisme intercommunal

Martin-Duby Museum

  • Share
  • Share this page on Twitter
  • Share this page on Facebook
  • Print this page

In 1964, Paule Muratore founded the “Association de Sauvegarde du Patrimoine Auriolais” (the Auriol Heritage Conservation Association) and established an arts and traditions museum in this old 16th century building (former grain house). The fountain and the wrought iron ramps date back to the 19th century.

Located in Auriol, the Martin-Duby museum offers a permanent exhibition covering 80m2 including: paintings, statues, santons, pottery, earthenware, tools, utensils, glassware, antiques, Massaliote coins and items from the Auriol treasure. Temporary exhibitions are organised throughout the year.

The museum also boasts several coins from the “Auriol treasure” (discovered in 1867).
As part of “Marseille Provence 2013” (the European Capital of Culture), the association “A la croisée des arts auriolais” as collected the majority of the coins from the treasure which are currently housed in various international museums (England, Germany, USA etc.), for the exhibition « À la recherche du trésor d’Auriol» ("on the hunt for the Auriol treasure").

Martin-Duby Museum
Rue Augustine Dupuy
13390 Auriol 

Opening hours from 2 January to 31 December 2013:
wednesdays, thursdays and fridays from 2.00 – 5.00 pm,
saturdays from 9.00 to 12.00 am and from 2.00 to 7.00 pm,
closed on bank holidays.
Tel: +33 (0)4 42 72 84 29
Email : museemartinduby@gmail.com
Auriol town hall website: www.mairie-auriol.fr