Office de tourisme intercommunal

Chapelle des Pénitents Noirs

  • Share
  • Share this page on Twitter
  • Share this page on Facebook
  • Print this page

The Brotherhood of the Black Penitents was founded in 1551.

The current building has changed between 1627 and 1728; in 1784, it had a neoclassical facade inspired by the Pantheon in Rome. It was built on the site of a Saint-Michel chapel, which we assume was built prior to the break-up of the City of Arles (fifth century).
It was served by the Saint Victor ‘s Abbey monks until the twelfth century.

In 1793, the Penitents chapel served as a stable for animals destined to supply the troops in the siege of Toulon.

On 22 October 2008, the Chapel of the Black Penitents received the regional prize Rubans du Patrimoine (Ribbons of Heritage) for its exemplary restoration project. 

Located on the heights of the old town, the Chapel of the Black Penitents also houses Aubagne’s art centre.

More than just a venue for exhibiting visual arts, the Black Penitents offer visitors an insight into current creations along with displays of the area’s heritage.

Conferences/meetings take place during each exhibition. Depending on the calendar, the exhibition is also a chance to merge various artistic disciplines. 

Chapelle des Pénitents Noirs
Montée des aires Saint-Michel, Chemin de Saint-Michel - 13400 Aubagne
Tel.: +33/ (0)4 42 18 17 26